Welcome Stranger to OCC!Login | Register

Titanfall Review



Titanfall contains three Titan chassis: Atlas, Stryder, and Ogre. While each chassis can be kitted with anything you unlock, the differences between them revolve around mobility, size, and armor. The Atlas is the middle-of-the-road chassis, the Stryder is the speedy and agile chassis with little armor, and the Ogre is the slow, hulking beast. The Ogre will dominate the Stryder in a tight, confined space, but the Stryder can run circles around it in wide-open areas and/or at range. The Atlas is good at not being particularly weak in either situation, but not particularly dominating either. Each Titan is also equipped with a unique Core that charges up over time and provides a limited time boost; the Atlas has a Damage Core, the Ogre has a Shield Core, and the Stryder has a Dash Core.

When you first start the game, you'll only have access to the Atlas. Completing your first campaign (whichever side the game assigns to you), will unlock the Stryder, while completing both campaigns unlocks the Ogre. Because neither chassis has a distinct advantage, you never feel underpowered when you only have access to one or two, so kudos to Respawn for that. In fact that's pretty much how every unlock in the game is – whether it's a weapon, ordnance, or ability, unlocking new ones simply provides you with more options, not something better.







Each pilot is equipped with a primary weapon, sidearm, anti-Titan weapon, ordnance, tactical ability, and two "kit" slots. While a tactical ability is an active skill (like cloaking), which has a cooldown, think of the two kit slots as passive skills (like faster tactical ability recharging or carrying extra ordnance). Primary weapons come in all the flavors you'd expect from a semi-realistic shooter: three assault rifles, one shotgun, three machine guns, and two sniper rifles. But this isn't a modern day shooter, it's a futuristic one, so there's also the Smart Pistol MK5, which locks onto multiple targets and then fires bullets that maneuver around obstacles to hit the targets. Primary weapons also have two mod slots: one for various sights and one for an accessory, like an extended magazine or suppressor. Sidearms simply consist of three regular pistols to choose from, while anti-Titan weapons have a lot of variety: a powerful homing rocket that requires a lengthy lock-on, rapid-fire micro-missiles, a grenade launcher, and an electricity-based rifle.



Titans, on the other hand, get one weapon, a tactical ability, ordnance, and two kit slots. They're also auto-equipped with a shield that recharges when out of combat and a dash ability. There are only six Titan weapons to choose from, but they're extremely varied: a chaingun, a semi-automatic cannon that fires explosive rounds, a cannon that fires a bolt of lightning, a cluster rocket launcher, a cluster grenade launcher, and a railgun. My favorite is probably the one that fires the bolt of lightning, called the Arc Cannon, but honestly, they're all highly useful and enjoyable. Each primary weapon can be equipped with a single mod. As with the pilots, tactical abilities are active skills, while kits are passives. In the world of Titanfall, ordnance refers to explosives for pilots, and secondary missile systems for Titans.



Unlocking additional weapons and abilities simply involves leveling up, while unlocking mods are often tied to weapon-specific challenges, which only unlock for the associated weapon. Leveling up also unlocks Custom Loadout slots for both pilots and titans, allowing you to set up a bunch of your favorite loadouts for easy access. Experience is gained by various methods, such as killing and completing challenges. When you reach Level 50, you have the option to regenerate and become a "Next Gen Pilot" – basically, Titanfall's Prestige system. By regenerating, you get a chip next to your name that lists what Generation you are and you'll gain experience at an accelerated rate, but all your challenges get reset, you lose all your unlocks, and you start back at Level 1.


There are also items called Burn Cards, which are single-use, in-game boosts. You first unlock them when you get to Level 7 and you earn them randomly over the course of a match or by completing challenges. You can equip up to three Burn Cards to take into a match, each activated individually, one at a time. Burn Cards vary greatly, with some offering "Amped" guns with increased damage, permanent cloak, an instant Titan, or more. When you activate a Burn Card, it's activated until you're killed or the match ends; whichever comes first. Some are quite useful depending on the game mode, though I honestly forget to use them half the time.

  1. Titanfall Introduction
  2. Titanfall Page 1
  3. Titanfall Page 2
  4. Titanfall Page 3
  5. Titanfall Page 4
  6. Titanfall Page 5
  7. Titanfall Page 6
  8. Titanfall Videos: Last Titan Standing & Hardpoint Domination
  9. Titanfall Videos: Capture The Flag, Attrition, & Pilot Hunter
  10. Titanfall Conclusion
Related Products
Random Pic
© 2001-2018 Overclockers Club ® Privacy Policy
Elapsed: 0.1221530437   (xlweb1)