Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC2-6400 Review

Makaveli - 2007-11-05 18:33:14 in Memory
Category: Memory
Reviewed by: Makaveli   
Reviewed on: November 26, 2007
Price: $239.99 USD

 

Introduction:

Whenever I see the words “Extreme Performance” on any computer component package, I usually take a second look at the product to see just how extreme it claims to perform. When I first saw the Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC2-6400 RAM, I was immediately intrigued to find out how well it could perform and overclock since it is a true 4GB kit. There aren’t many true 4GB sets of RAM on the market that run tight timings and have nice headroom for overclocking. I’m curious to see where this Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC2-6400 set of RAM places amongst some of the best true 4GB memory kits on the market today. Will it truly have “Extreme Performance?” How high can it be overclocked while keeping the stock latencies of 4-4-4-12? Join me as I thoroughly investigate this Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4GB (2 x 2GB) PC2-6400 RAM.

 

Closer Look:

The Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 set of RAM comes packaged securely in plastic. The front of the packaging allows you to see the product and visually confirm it is what you ordered. The back of the box displays the specifications of the memory very clearly. I first noticed the stock voltage to be 2.2 – this is surprisingly high as most of my other sets are set to 2.1 volts or less.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This particular set of Patriot Extreme Performance RAM has a unique black heat spreader which has ridges on the outside to disperse heat. The front side of each stick has “DDR2” printed on it, as well as the sticker that lists a lot of necessary information. The back of the sticks each have “Patriot” proudly displayed in shiny silver material.  This set also comes with a paper that has instructions on how to correctly install the memory and more.

 

 

Now, let's move on and install this set of Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 RAM!

Installation:

To correctly install the Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB set of DDR2 800 memory, first power off your computer and remove the side panel of your case. Remove the current DDR2 memory that is installed in your motherboard, lightly set the Patriot RAM on top of their respective slots and make sure the pins line up with the slot so that you don’t break anything when you push them into place. Now firmly push the sticks into the slots and secure them with the fasteners on either side of the slot. Close up your case, power on your computer, and go into your BIOS. I recommend that you make sure the memory voltage is set to 2.2, the frequency is set to 400MHz (DDR2 800), and the timings are 4-4-4-12. As you can see, my motherboard picked up the set and recognized the EPP profile as well.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Specifications:

Brand

Patriot

Series

Extreme Performance

Model

PDC24G6400LLK

Type

240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM

Capacity

4GB (2  x 2GB)

Speed

DDR2 800 (PC2 6400)

Cas Latency

4

Timing

4-4-4-12

Voltage

2.2V

Heat Spreader

Yes

Features

Patriot Aluminum Bladed Heat
Shield Technology to improve
module stability
RoHS Compliant
EPP Ready

Testing:

In order to get an accurate idea for how this Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 set of RAM performs, I'm going to be putting it through a mortifying series of benchmarks and tests. After that, I'll be overclocking the set as far as it can possibly go and then run it through the same series of benchmarks. I'll be comparing this Patriot 4GB set to two Mushkin 4GB sets - the XP2-6400 and HP2-6400 sets. All three of these sets are stock at DDR2 800 and have timings of 4-4-4-12, except the HP2-6400 set which has latencies of 5-4-4-12. Hopefully, this will be a good battle.

Testing Setup:

Benchmarks:

 

CPU-Z: This program gives some very accurate information about your memory, so we took a screenshot of the Patriot Extreme Performance at stock speeds.

 

Task Manager: Windows Task Manager is a good program to use in order to view how much of your memory is available and many other memory related statistics.

 

Let's move on and put this set through the rigorous benchmarks!

Testing:

PcMark05: I will be running the system suite for an overall score and I'll also be running the memory suite to get a score specific to the memory. Higher is better in these tests.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sisoft Sandra XI: In this program, I'll be running the Memory Bandwidth, Cache and Memory, and Memory Latency tests. Higher is better in all tests except the Memory Latency - where lower is better.

 

I can already tell that the battle between the Patriot 4GB set and the Mushkin XP2-6400 set will be very good one! For the majority of the tests, the Patriot barely claims victory over both Mushkin 4GB sets.

Testing:

CacheMem: We use CacheMem to accurately test the read and write performance of the memory. Higher is better in each of these tests.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Far Cry: We'll be using this first person shooter to see if this RAM boosts the frames per second. Higher is better in these tests.

 

 

The Patriot set had a slight upper-hand in this battle.

Overclocking:

While I was overclocking, I wanted see how far this Patriot Extreme Performance DDR2 800 4GB set of RAM would go while keeping the stock timings of 4-4-4-12. Unfortunately, it didn't go very far - I hit a wall at 407MHz. Once I loosened the timings to 5-5-5-12, the RAM did much better and got all the way up to 533MHz (DDR2 1066). The Mushkin XP2-6400 got up to 444MHz (DDR2 800) with stock timings and it got to 543MHz (DDR2 1086) when I took the timings to 5-5-5-12. The Mushkin HP2-6400 got up to 536MHz (DDR2 1072) at 5-4-4-12 timings, which is stock for that particular set. I'm going to be comparing all of these sets and their highest frequencies that I was able to obtain.

CPU-Z: 407MHz at 4-4-4-12 and 533 MHz at 5-5-5-12 latencies.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

PcMark05: Higher is better in these tests. 

 

Sisoft Sandra XI: Every test except for Memory Latency has results where higher is better.

 

The Patriot set at 407MHz (DDR2 814) actually did slightly worse than at 400MHz (DDR2 800).

Testing:

CacheMem: The higher the score, the better.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Far Cry: Again, higher is better in these tests.

 

 

The Patriot does well at DDR2 1066, which is good to see.

Conclusion:

This Patriot Extreme Performance 4GB (2 x 2GB) DDR2 800 RAM has multiple pros and cons. First, I was impressed with how the set kept up with the exceptional performance of the Mushkin XP2-6400 4GB set. Almost all of the results between the Patriot set and the Mushkin XP2 set were very close. At stock speeds, the Patriot RAM took second place in six of the eleven benchmarks. But in the world of the enthusiasts, second place just isn’t good enough. The Patriot set only had four first place finishes in the benchmarks, which doesn’t cut it for me. I would have liked to see it have the majority of the benchmarks in its pocket. What disappointed me the most about this RAM was its overclocking ability at its stock timings of 4-4-4-12. I was only able to go 7MHz higher than the stock rating, which isn’t very good in my book. I was relieved to see that the set was able to go all the way up to 533MHz (DDR2 1066) with the looser timings of 5-5-5-12. After you look through the test results, it’s clear to see that this true 4GB set is a good one because it keeps up with two exceptional sets from Mushkin, but it just does not separate itself from the pack.

 

Pros:

 

Cons: