Welcome Stranger to OCC!Login | Register

P67 Memory Kit Roundup Review

ccokeman    -   March 29, 2011
» Discuss this article (2)

Lowest Prices

Testing:

To find out just what kind of performance these kits of memory will deliver, I will be running them through a series of benchmarks to see how they compare. Both 4GB and 8GB kits that range in speed from 1600MHz to 2133MHz will be tested at their native speeds as well as overclocked as far as the test platform and CPU will allow. Overclocking on the Intel P67 series platform is very BCLK limited so most of your speed gains will come from adjusting the memory multiplier and working the timings down to a more respectable level if possible in an effort to improve performance. The test setup used for this evaluation is listed below. Turbo Boost has been disabled to eliminate an uncontrolled clock speed increase to skew the results. The operating system is Windows 7 Pro 64bit with all current patches installed at the time of testing. The Video drivers are the AMD Catalyst 11.2.

Testing Setup:

 

Comparison Modules:

  • Comparison Module #1: Mushkin Redline 996805 6-8-6-24 1600MHz 2 x 2GB
  • Comparison Module #2: Corsair Vengeance 1600MHz CMZ8GX3M2A1600C9 9-9-9-24 2 x 4GB
  • Comparison Module #3: G.Skill [ Ripjaws-X ] F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD 9-11-9-28 2 x 4GB
  • Comparison Module #4: Kingston Special Edition Grey KHX2133C9AD3X2K2/4GX 9-11-9-27 2 x 2GB
  • Comparison Module #5: Patriot Division 2 PXD38G1866ELK 9-11-9-27 2 x 4GB

 

CPU-Z: This application shows us the settings that we have chosen in the BIOS. Items shown in this application include CPU speed and bus settings, motherboard manufacturer, BIOS revisions, memory timings, and SPD chip information.

CPU-Z

 

Task Manager: We use this utility to show physical memory, kernel memory, page file, and processor usage.

Task Manager

 

Overclocking:

Corsair Overclocked settings:

  • Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
  • Memory: Corsair Vengeance 8GB 9-10-9-27 1962MHz

Corsair's Vengeance series modules are rated for operation at 1600Mhz with latencies of 9-9-9-24 using a low 1.5v. At 1.5v I was unable to get them to scale up to the next memory multiplier which was 1866MHz. However, at the rated speed, the latencies could be tightened up to 7-8-7-27. To reach the next multiplier step I had to increase the voltage to 1.65 with a bump in the TECD from 9 to 10. Once at this step I increased the BCLK of the 2600K to go further with this set, topping out at 1962MHz DDR. That's a 362MHz or almost 23% bump from the base 1600MHz rated speed. A pretty stout bump in clock speed if you ask me.

 

 

 

G.Skill Overclocked settings:

  • Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
  • Memory: G.Skill RipjawsX 8GB 9-10-9-28 2208MHz

The G.Skill RipjawsX modules are rated at 2133MHz right out of the box. The first thing I tried was booting into the 2400MHz multiplier. This was met with a black screen and memory error showing on the diagnostic display on the motherboard. A voltage bump to the QPI and DIMMs did not get me there nor did decreasing the latencies. Tightening up the latencies at the 2133MHz level was not a fruitful experience either it seems. Voltages up to 1.7 on the memory and 1.25 on the QPI/VTT were tried in an effort to get there. In the end, I resorted the BCLK overclocking, bumping the BCLK up to 103.5MHz to reach 2204MHz or a 71MHz bump over the rated frequency at the rated latencies.

 

Kingston Overclocked settings:

  • Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
  • Memory: Kingston Genesis Grey Series 4GB 9-11-9-27 2260MHz

The Kingston Grey series modules are rated at 2133MHz just like the G.Skill modules but are a 4GB capacity set of modules. The first order of business was to see how tight the timings would go at the rated frequency. With this set of modules I was surprised to see that they were able to run CAS 7 at 2133MHz even though the TRCD would only go as low as 10. This ability gave me hope of reaching 2400MHz but that thought was short lived when I met the same black screen at 2400MHz with a memory error on the diagnostic display on the Max IV. As it ends up, the BCLK was used again at the default multiplier to reach the top clock speed I was able to get from these modules. The BCLK was steadily increased until I reached the BCLK limits of my chip at 105.9 giving me a final memory speed of 2260MHz at the rated 9-11-9-27 latencies. The increase on a percentage basis comes in at 6%. Not too much headroom but everything that could be gained was.

 

 

Patriot Overclocked settings:

  • Processor: Intel Core i7 2600K
  • Memory: Patriot Viper Extreme Division 2 8GB 9-11-9-27 1952MHz

The Division 2 modules initially looked like they held the promise of tighter timings and an increase in speed just on looks alone but when I tried to tighten the latencies I just did not get any love from this set of modules. Higher voltages did not help even with the excellent heat spreader design. Flipping modules into different sockets did not help either. This was kind of a surprise since in the past I have had good results on their top tier kits like the Sector 5. Bumping up to the 2133MHz multiplier did not go well either with the familiar by now memory error showing on the display. Bumping the BCLK up was the way to go and netted at total of 86MHz of headroom before the modules would not post. The BCLK increase went to 104.6 from 100 so there was still some room that could not be achieved with 1.3 BCLKs still available.

 

The maximum memory speed for each set of modules when overclocked is a measure of how well the modules ran on this test system. As such, your results may differ in either a positive or negative way based on the capabilities of your hardware. That said, your mileage may vary!

 

The benchmarks used in this review include the following:

Benchmarks:

  • CPU-Z Version 1.54
  • Windows Task Manager
  • PCMark Vantage
  • Geekbench 2.1
  • Super Pi 1.5
  • SiSoft Sandra 2011
  • Batman Arkham Asylum



  1. Introduction & Closer Look Corsair Vengeance
  2. Closer Look: G.Skill F3-17000CL9D-8GBXLD
  3. Closer Look: Kingston Grey Series KHX2133C9AD3X2K2/4GX
  4. Closer Look: Patriot Division 2 PXD38G1866ELK
  5. Specifications & Features
  6. Testing: Setup, CPU-z, Task Manager, Overclocking
  7. Testing, PCMark Vantage, Geek Bench, Super Pi 1.5
  8. Testing: Sisoft Sandra 2011
  9. Testing: Batman Arkham Asylum
  10. Conclusion:
Random Pic
© 2001-2014 Overclockers Club ® Privacy Policy

Also part of our network: TalkAndroid, Android Forum, iPhone Informer, Neoseeker, and Used Audio Classifieds

Elapsed: 0.0560669899