CES 2007 Coverage

Bosco - 2006-11-08 05:42:47 in Trade Shows/Conventions
Category: Trade Shows/Conventions
Reviewed by: Bosco   
Reviewed on: January 6, 2007
OverclockersClub.com would like you to be a part of the 2007 CES experience without leaving your home.

Beginning today (1/8/07) @ 9:00 am, OverclockersClub will be supplying our readers with press releases, reviews, pictures and summaries of each day’s events, for all four days at CES.

These updates will be posted periodically throughout the day, to keep our members and readers up to date on any new or extraordinary products being introduced. So the staff @ OCC invite you to check back frequently as this will truly be an event not to be missed.

The attending OCC staff members are:

•    Bosco
•    Raven65
•    Bishop245
•    injijagwalaafq
•    Uber

You can discuss any news we post from CES in the Official OCC @ CES thread in the OverclockersClub Forums
Have a comment or suggestion about our CES coverage article? Please contact Scott aka "sdy284" via Email or if you're an OCC Forum member, via
Personal Message

In case you missed it, OverclockersClub was interviewed LIVE by FoxNews.com. Click the video below to see what you missed!


CES Day Four

Products Added to the OCC at CES Article as of 5:00pm (cst):

Ultra Products:


1/11/07 (7:00pm) - CES Update:

A lot of news from the Coolermaster booth:


CES Day Three

1/10/07 (2:20pm) - CES Update:

Intel had some surprises at their booth:


1/10/07 End of Day 3 - CES Update:


CES Day Two

1/9/07 (1:23pm) - CES Update:

Ok,  a LOT of news from Adata today:


1/9/07 (3:05pm) - CES Update:

SuperTalent
has been pretty busy as well, just check out some of their upcoming products!

There's also a great deal of new product coming from the CoolIT booth:


1/9/07 (5:15pm) - CES Update:

Mushkin
has a few new products on display as well:


1/9/07 (8:00pm) - CES Update:

Enermax, not surprisingly, had some new PSU's on display:

1/9/07 (9:30pm) - CES Update:

Abit had quite a few interesting products as well:


CES Day One

1/8/07 (9:40am) - CES Update:
 
All of the OCC staff members have safely arrived in Vegas for CES and have already started the hunt for cutting edge products & news!

1/8/07 (2:30pm) - CES Update:

(Pics will appear tonight)


1/8/07 (5:15pm) - CES Update:


1/8/07 (10:10pm) - CES Update:

LTB Magnum 5.1 FX Headset

New for 2007 from LTB Audio Systems, the Magnum 5.1 FX Headset for Game consoles and HD audio content.


Now a totally immersive headset for gaming, movies and HDTV in true 5.1 Surround sound has arrived in the new Magnum FX by LTB Audio Systems.

The same True spatial audio from the LTB USB Magnum Headset in an AC3 adapted
Headset with Xbox live Microphone and connector cable. (Playstation cable optional)

The system will include:

Best of all the Magnum FX 5.1 Headset will retail under $99

Only LTB® True 5.1 Headphones are designed with patented technology that allows them to respond like true 5.1 speakers. Each speaker emitter has it's own independent speaker chamber for proper resonance and ergonomic placement of sound. SafeBass® ensures that you will be able to use these headphones for long periods of time without compromising your hearing.

Ario Wireless Technology from LTB Audio Systems


Developed by LTB Audio Systems, ARIO Wireless Technology uses a fully integrated single-chip wireless audio IC which includes a complete RF transceiver, Audio Fidelity Processor™ for signal coding and processing and a  complete digital audio interfaces with voltage regulation.

When paired with a companion receiver-side device, the transmitter-side provides breakthrough wireless audio functionality with point-to-point transport of CD-quality, uncompressed stereo PCM audio data at 16-bit, 48 kHz. Novel link protocol and audio coding deliver a link that is extremely robust against multiple interferer's and channel imperfections. The link includes simultaneous (Real-time) mono audio in the reverse direction for voice applications, and a data sideband for control and meta data (for functions like media player control).

The transmitter incorporates all the MAC functionality necessary to connect a companion receiver device and control the link and user operations. The transmitter also incorporates a full USB transceiver and enumerates as a USB Audio device as well as USB HID device enabling true plug & play in Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems.



Features:

Interview with Razer President, Robert Krakoff


After getting a good rundown on what is being released as well as what is coming up for Razer, I got the chance to sit down with Robert for a quick interview.

After introducing myself, and getting the obvious out of the way, we got into the serious discussion of his feelings for how Razer is doing as well as what its goals are as a company now that they have such a large following.

Connor: How would you rate your approach to the market that your company is targeting, as well as some of the key steps in your R&D process?

Robert: I feel as though we have an A- in concept but a D+ for execution. That being said, there is always room for improvement, as well as the acquisition and finessing of a few of the finer technologies.

Connor: Why are you staying with the mostly “accessory” range of products?

This is when I got a chance to look into what Razer really thinks about their product line

Robert: The original plan was to stick to four base things. Starting with the most important, we have the Mouse, the Gaming Surface, Sound, and lastly, the keyboard. Near the end of 2006, we finally completed our entire proposed product lineup.

Connor: So what is next for the already stoked lineup?

Robert: I’m not sure where we will be going now. We will just have to see. Want to see the MAKO?

The MAKO, Razer’s new speaker system, while not being nearly close to a standard surround, or even stereo, system, they are calling it a 2.1 Omni Directional system. After going into detail about the technologies involved, Robert stated:

“These are some REALLY incredible speakers and there is no one on the market that has anything nearly close to its performance”.

Razer really went off the rocker with this product as well. It teamed up with THX and used not only THX technologies, but as well as a system they have created that is claimed to be unable to distort, in essence keeping the sound true at all times. What Razer has done is taken several thousand dollar speakers and brought them down to the level of the average consumer.

I asked Robert what makes the MAKO so great? He grabbed a DeathAdder sitting on a nearby table and used it to represent the speaker. He showed us how sound waves actually move and how the MAKO counters the table bounce issue.

Connor: What is the target group for these speakers?

Robert: Music is the primary target. Games will also benefit, though it will take some getting used to with the new Omni Directional sound.
This technology is kick a$$, it really is.


Thanks,

Connor aka "Uber" Razer Mako 2.1 Bi-Amplified Speaker System


Razer, the creators of the Razer Barracuda gaming audio system, is proud to introduce the Razer Mako 2.1 THX Certified bi-amplified multimedia speaker system at CES 2007. The Razer Mako represents a groundbreaking new desktop speaker design from the sound engineers and scientists of gaming industry leader Razer and audio industry pioneer THX Ltd. The Razer Mako 2.1 is the first desktop speaker system to incorporate THX Ground Plane™ and THX Slot Speaker™ technologies, which raise the bar for acoustic fidelity and performance in the desktop category. Whether the listener has connected their desktop computer, gaming console, television, CD deck, or portable MP3 player as the Razer Mako’s input source, the system will deliver sonic presentations that are the best-in-class for any 2.1 desktop speaker system.

“The advantage of multimedia and PC speakers is that they can be conveniently positioned on desktops and bookshelves. But, sound reflecting from desktop surfaces interferes with the direct sound, creating uneven frequency response at the listener’s ear level,” said Laurie Fincham, chief scientist at THX. “The Razer Mako 2.1 is the first multimedia speaker system designed from the ground up to provide optimal performance on the desktop. The THX Ground Plane and Slot Speaker technologies ensure the speaker drivers are very close to the desktop surface, doubling the output and delivering smooth and even response at all frequencies."

Features
:

Razer DeathAdder

Razer™, the world’s leading brand in high-end computer gaming peripherals, unleashes the Razer DeathAdder, an ergonomic right-handed gaming mouse with the industry’s first 3G infrared sensor.

The Razer DeathAdder’s ergonomic design is the result of years of studies conducted by Razer’s engineering team. Thousands of gamers have been studied, their play styles, shape of hands and method of grip.

Features:

Endowed with deadly instincts, the Razer DeathAdder possesses a sleek and smooth rubber coated matte black chassis that stretches from tip to tail, giving it an elegant and seamless body, that’s slip resistant during intensive gameplay. The DeathAdder has the right curves in all the right places, providing the perfect fit to right-handed gamers. The mouse has five programmable, ultra-large non-slip buttons with Hyperesponse™ for improved comfort.

“With all gamers in mind, Razer’s engineer team built the DeathAdder from the ground up to make this the perfect right-handed gaming weapon. With the latest Razer-only 1800 dpi 3G infrared sensor, an unbeatable 1000 Hz Ultrapolling™ and 1ms response time, the Razer DeathAdder is in a league of its own,” said Robert “Razerguy” Krakoff, president, Razer Group.

Available at a competitive price of $59.99, Razer makes this uber mouse a must-have by also introducing a 30 Day Money Back Challenge. While there are many right-handed mice out in the market that profess to be gaming mice, Razer’s 30 day Money Back Guarantee Challenge is the company’s seal of confidence that guarantees that the DeathAdder will outperform any gaming mouse and challenges gamers to put the DeathAdder to the test. This 30-Day Money Back challenge is only available on the Razer Webstore and terms and conditions apply.

 

Microsoft Reclusa, Powered by Razer

Today at the 2007 International CES in Las Vegas, Microsoft Corp. and Razer USA Ltd. set a new standard in gaming innovation with the new Microsoft® Reclusa™ gaming keyboard. Reclusa will help set gamers apart from their competitors with advanced features and best-in-class design elements such as ambient backlighting, Hyperesponse™ Gaming Key Action for maximum response with minimal latency, and two built-in gold-plated USB ports. Gamers will be able to improve their efficiency with 12 custom-programmable buttons that include two 360 Degree Jog-Dials and two Bumper Buttons conveniently located on each side of the keyboard for faster control and optimized gameplay.

With the launch of Reclusa, Microsoft and Razer are adding a keyboard to their gaming lineup, which includes the successful Habu™ mouse.

 

Features:

 

 

“We are excited to partner with Razer to develop Reclusa and deliver on the keyboard needs of an estimated 200 million PC gamers worldwide,” said Bill Jukes, product marketing manager for Microsoft Hardware at Microsoft. “The new keyboard builds upon our joint commitment to provide the most advanced features and comfortable implementation to the gaming community.”

Reclusa is the second co-branded device from Microsoft and Razer. The two companies first united to create Habu, a laser gaming mouse that delivers 2,000 dots-per-inch performance and features selectable side button panels to accommodate varying hand sizes and preferences, high-speed motion detection, and an ergonomic design for intense gaming sessions.

“The excitement around the recently launched Habu mouse illustrates that gamers around the globe are just as enthusiastic about our alliance with Microsoft as we are,” said Robert “RazerGuy” Krakoff, president of Razer. “With the launch of Reclusa, we are taking that alliance to the next level and continuing to raise the bar of innovation in the gaming industry.” Microsoft Reclusa will be widely available in March 2007 for an estimated retail price1 of $69.95 (U.S.)

Razer Pro|Solutions

Razer has been building quality input devices since 1999, which makes it one of the select manufacturers in the industry. As the worldwide leader in high-performance input devices for the quickly growing field of motion control, Razer Pro|Solutions are precision instruments built to last, and to deliver increased productivity, control and precision to professional users that demand the best from their electronic peripherals.

Sleek, streamlined and functional, the Razer Pro|Type is the first keyboard to integrate a universal iPod dock into its design, facilitating a lifestyle element prevalent in today’s culture. The more pairing of the iPod dock in the keyboard allows for easy synchronization and charging of all iPods without the hassle of additional wiring.

Features:




In addition to the Pro|Type, the Razer Pro|Click Mobile is the most precise Bluetooth notebook mouse in the world today, catered for individuals on the go or whenever space is a constraint.

Features:

Belkin Easy Transfer Cable

Belkin offers a diverse product mix that provides people with seamless electronics integration in their homes, cars, and on the go. Founded in California in 1983, Belkin is a privately held company and the recognized leader in connectivity solutions, in addition to accessories for MP3 devices, computers, and more. We provide extensive solutions for networking, home theater—with our PureAV® line of cables, power, and digital wireless accessories—and many more categories. You can view and purchase them at www.belkin.com, as well as through a network of major distributors, resellers, and superstores. Belkin’s phenomenal growth has led to our expanding global presence. In addition to corporate headquarters in Los Angeles, we now have offices throughout Europe—in the United Kingdom, the Netherlands, and Germany, among others—and in the Asia Pacific region, including Australia, Shanghai, and our regional headquarters in Hong Kong.

The new Belkin Easy Transfer Cable for Windows Vista lets you quickly transfer your MP3s and photos as well as your files and emails from your Windows XP-based computer to your PC running Windows Vista. This Cable provides the easiest and quickest way to ready you for the use of your new Windows Vista-based computer.  The 8-foot Cable connects to your computers’ USB ports. The Windows Easy Transfer Wizard then automatically appears, letting you  choose what items to copy. Price is set at $39.99

Features:

Availability is scheduled for late January, with launches in Asia, Europe, and Australia to follow.

ASUS Adds S6F Pink Edition to its Luxury Leather Collection Notebook Line

The S6F “Pink Edition,” the newest member of ASUS’ luxurious Leather Collection line, is a notebook that would be right at home in fashion districts from New York to Milan. ASUS captures the power of dual core processing in this ultra-thin 3.4 lb. masterpiece of design, bound in luxurious, genuine pink leather. The result is a digital dream accessory that is personal, powerful, and naturally beautiful.

The Summit of Digital Style
One core belief drives the design and engineering of ASUS’ notebook products: the enjoyment a notebook creates depends on its moment to moment touch and feel. ASUS therefore selects the finest materials, and crafts them into exquisitely styled notebooks with flawless fit and finish. The S6F follows the company’s W1, W2, W5, and VX1 Series notebooks in winning the most prestigious design awards in the industry, including the RedDot award and the iF award. The S6F has
also been recognized as “the best designed notebook of the year” for 2006 (Best Designed Notebook, Computer Shopper, “Best in Tech 2006”). Each S6F even surrounds itself with stylish accessories such as a matching leather mouse and a stylish carrying bag.

Hot Performance
The S6F Pink Edition is powered by an Intel® Core™ Duo L2400 1.66GHz processor and comes with all of the extras. It offers a capacious 120GB of storage. Its displays astonishingly clear, rich, and detailed images on its 1366 x 768 11.1” screen enhanced by ASUS’ Splendid Video Enhancement Technology. Its built-in Bluetooth 2.0 + EDR transmits three times faster than the standard Bluetooth for increased connectivity and synchronization between digital devices. And a complete range of input/ output ports offers dynamic data transfers and storage including 5 USB ports, an S-video TV-out port and express card slots.

Long Lasting Battery Life
The superior mobility of the S6F is further enhanced by its extended battery life. It’s Core™ Duo processor can extend usage up to 25% beyond that of previous processors, and ASUS Power4 Gear+ power management extends battery life up to and additional 20-25%, providing reliable and continuous operating power and enabling better productivity.

The Best Warranty in the Industry
The S6F Pink Edition is covered anywhere in the world for a full two years if purchased in the US or Canada. Additionally, if the LCD contains even a single bright pixel within 30 days of purchase, ASUS will replace the entire screen.

To find out more about the S6F Pink Edition and other S6F models, please visit usa.asus.com.

Pricing and Availability
The S6F Pink Edition is available now at an MSRP of $2,399. To get up to the minute pricing and availability from your favorite reseller, please visit: http://usa.asus.com/wheretobuy.aspx

Specifications:



Bosco's thoughts on day one of CES

First off...WOW. I expected a lot, but I was surprised by how much there is going on.

The hotel is pretty nice, and very big, LOL.


I never thought that there could be so many booths. There are lots of really cool things here and I am very impressed by them.


Arctic Cooling appears to be an up and coming company that has some great looking products.


MSI. Their laptops are pretty cool but I think the diamonds are a little much in my opinion.

  


Chieftec has some pretty cool cases. Sorry, I did not take any photos.

Leave it to Lian-Li to have an odd case to steal the show. Their products are still pretty much the same; nothing really new style-wise besides that one case.


Geil. Their stuff is very impressive, to say the least. The thought of having memory directly connect to the power supply and adjusting the voltage on the stick itself is just unreal.


Geil’s Black Dragon gaming memory looks to be very impressive as well. I expect to see some more good things from them in 2007. They really want to move up in the market, that’s for sure.


Patriot. What can I say? 1302MHz memory. That is a statement in and of itself. I just can't believe it, that speed is insane! Already having samples of DDR3 is very impressive. Just like Geil, I expect big things from Patriot in 2007 at the pace they are going. Unfortunately, the pictures of this memory didn't turn out.

Trimersion and their Wireless Virtual Headset is pretty sweet looking. There were some issues with the wireless because of all the other stuff going on, but tomorrow we will be going back for a wired LAN test run. I am looking forward to that, and also to trying out the full 360 Degrees while playing Call of Duty 2. The nice thing about this product is that you can use it on the Playstation 1 and 2, as well as the Xbox and PC. Very cool.


Vapoli. A Phase Change system speaks for itself. I was very impressed about the design. I look forward to them making the product even better with some new stuff they are adding to it.

    
     

ePower is up and coming with some 1000 watt power supplies. The unit itself is very shiny and a little smaller then most other units in its class. These huge power supplies are now starting to become very common.

ECS showed us their 590 and 680 chipsets. The boards were pretty sweet looking. They also showed us their own 7950GTX video cards. Throughout 2007 they are going to be really focusing on Video Cards. It is always nice to see more companies doing this.

Powercolor showed off their 1950XT AGP. I know, we asked right away why?! Their response: “We still have a huge demand for high-end AGP.” Makes sense to me. If there is a market, then why not?

PLANon is a company that I have never heard of at all. I was walking by and they stopped me to bring me over to their booth. All I can say is that I’m glad that I did. The rep, Nick, showed me a handheld scanner. He scanned the fire logo on my shirt and then hooked the scanner up to his laptop. I was so impressed with the handheld scanner that was about the length of a drinking straw, and not much wider either. This unit was just unreal. I know that scanners are not as popular as they once were, but then he showed me something really cool. If you scan text, open the file and click any of the word file icons down below and it will automatically convert it into that file and you can edit it or do whatever, no more typing that is very awesome. It may not be for everyone, but still a very cool product that I personally would find very useful.

I met a lot of great people today and I am looking forward to OCC working with them in 2007. So far this has been a very enjoyable adventure and I am glad that I can share it with our readers.

That is about it from me for today. Oh yea, I forgot to mention that I really hate traffic. Took us over 30 minutes on the shuttle to get from our hotel to the Sands, a normally 5 minute drive. Oh well, it’s to be expected. Will update more tomorrow.

Dave aka "Bosco"
OCC Site Manager

Raven's thoughts on day one of CES

I must say, I was quite overwhelmed. I arrived this morning at about 9:45 am CST and as soon as I dropped off my luggage in our room, it was straight to work. Uber, Bishop and I had an interview with Robert Krakoff, the founder of Razer. The interview with Razer went well. We got a sneak peek of the upcoming release of the Razer Mako. This will be Razer’s first attempt at Audio Surround sound in 2.1. From there I went to talk to Asus and made a new contact for their newest product releases.


Seagate, Belkin, Creative Labs and Voodoo PC were next. At Seagate, we procured a deal to review any, and all, of their newest upcoming products. Yes, upon its release in April, OCC will be reviewing the new terabyte drive. (press release tomorrow)

Belkin was a new venture for OCC. Many of us use their products but use them mainly for being inexpensive rather than being reliable. We will now have a chance to find out how reliable inexpensive really is. Belkin has many products ranging from wireless networking to Uninterruptible Power Sources (UPS).

Establishing a relationship with Creative Labs is in its infancy. Our meeting with them will be on Wednesday.

As for VoodooPC. Well, they feel that an OCC review isn't worth it for their products. I was told by their marketing representative that they don't cater to Internet sites because we are too small for them, and their cost to ship the item would be too expensive. Can you say Sell Out? They are now affiliated with HP, and considering that all HP is worried about is selling inferior (i.e. proprietary) products to consumers who don't know better, I personally felt that VoodooPC, once a friend of the enthusiast, has now become interested only in what's in their pockets.


All in all, it was a great day. The Overclockers Club CES team finally got to meet each other and new friendships are being forged.

Paul aka "Raven65"
OCC Marketing Director

CoolIT Systems Unveils Advanced Liquid Cooling Innovations

About CoolIT
CoolIT Systems has been working with industry leaders in the computer industry to research, design, and deliver next generation cooling products that provide a comprehensive solution while exceeding high OEM standards for reliability and maintenance-free operation. This carefully designed and patented technology unleashes the full potential of a PC, providing superior cooling performance while reducing system level noise and improving reliability of vital components.  The CoolIT MTEC Technology can be found in the top names in performance computing like Alienware, Velocity Micro,  Nex-Type, MAINGEAR, Biohazard, Hypersonic and Shuttle.

New CoolIT Technology
CoolIT Systems, known for their high-performance MTEC™  liquid cooling technology, has developed the first-ever MTEC™ Control Center module with "Predictive Cooling™" effectively allowing computers to anticipate heat production from the CPU and adjust cooling power accordingly to provide a new level of cooling stability. The MTEC™ Control Center module consists of a USB connected control board that allows full software interaction to dynamically control the cooling power and fan speeds of nearly any MTEC Chilling solution depending on the preferences of the end user.

One of several liquid cooling systems that Predictive Cooling™ technology works with is the new Boreas 12-TEC (Thermoelectric Cooler) chiller.  While other cooling alternatives are restricted to a single processor, the Boreas all-in-one solution applies CoolIT's patented MTEC technology to chill the CPU, GPU, and chipsets allowing for unprecedented levels of overclocking performance.  The Boreas is currently featured in systems from MAINGEAR, and Biohazard.

"These new offerings from CoolIT clearly demonstrate our deep commitment to providing the computing industry all necessary thermal management technology.  Our offerings now include both software and hardware cooling integration to achieve the highest possible level of performance and reliability from their computer" said Geoff Lyon, CEO of CoolIT Systems.  "The MTEC Control Center module with Predictive Cooling and the powerful new Boreas 12-TEC Chiller are just two more examples of technology advancements that are quickly establishing CoolIT as the market leader in computer cooling technology."

Also being introduced today is the CoolIT Systems RAM Fan and PCI Cooling Booster which provide direct air flow to cool RAM, Video Cards and other heat sensitive components on the motherboard like chipsets and voltage regulators.

Bosco's Thoughts on CES day two

It’s 10:40PM and I am beat, but I know that a lot of you are waiting for some updates.

The day started off as insane as it did yesterday, though it felt like there were more people today than yesterday, and of course, the traffic was just insane. BTW, have I mentioned that I hate traffic? So here we go with the day’s recap.


My first stop of the day was AData.


The first things shown to me were the thumb drives and SD cards with LCD screens. No more hooking it up to the computer simply to see how much space there is. Now you just have to look at the LCD screen.

 


The company is really beginning to move gaming memory now, something that seems to be a very common trend here at CES.


Next, they showed me Disney themed flash drives up to 2Gb .

      

There was also a neat three-in-one thumb drive. It acts as a thumb drive, SD Card, and a reader. The unit comes with all the adapters needed to make this unit work up to its full potential.


They just launched their 16GB flash drive. I can remember the day when 128MB was a big deal, let alone 16 gigs. Very impressive. Here is a pic of the 4Gb version and a few other thumb drives with Ready Boost:

   


AData also showed off some DDR3 sticks clocked at 1066MHz.



CoolIT was next on the list. I was pleasantly surprised when i saw this in their booth.



I found their RAM Fans to be a very interesting product.


They showed off a cooling system with a fan blowing on the SLI bridge, which I thought was a great idea.


CoolIT is now doing some cooling solutions for Dell, Alienware, Shuttle, and BioHazard, to name a few.

  


They also showed some software for the cooling system that will allow you to preset your temps and will also predict possible temps and increase airflow if need be.

     



Super Talent


They are looking at doing 1120MHz gaming modules and are working on DDR3 just like everyone else.

   


Another product in the works are IDE flash drives which are the same size as a standard laptop drive with 16GB.

 


All higher end sticks, such as ones that are overclocked, will be using different RAM sinks.

 



Some more products showed off were new Very Low Profile memory, which are very small in height, speeds 667MHz and at sizes up to 4GB. Another memory product was a multi-purpose device that looks like a pen, has a laser pointer, and is a memory stick sized from 1GB to 2GB.

 


The last thing we talked to Super Talent about was them working on making their thumb drives faster. They are trying to get 30 - 35MB/s read and 20 - 22MB/s write speeds. With a 16GB flash drive, I would say the faster the better.

       



Mushkin


What a blast to hang out with their guys.

800 and 1000 watt power supplies are due out before the 2nd quarter of this year, and will have 6 rails each. 1200 and 1500 watt units will be released over the next 4 to 6 months.

       


Their power supplies are currently using Green LEDs. Mushkin may be switching their 1000 watt and above units to the Redline brand, but a switch to red LEDs has not yet been decided.

All of their power supplies have gone to a 5 year warranty. If you have a Mushkin power supply already that came with the three year warranty, it will automatically be “upgraded” to a 5 year warranty. If your hardware is damaged by their power supply, if you send in your hardware for them to see, they will replace your hardware. They will also do cross transfers as well. Nice Deal.

Memory 9600 should be in the next month or so with a clock speed of 1200MHz and DDR3 is currently being tested.

I am going to beat Brian's overclock. He is beating me, but not by much. Of course, he cheated since he used better memory.


Enermax


They are just launching their EGX Galaxy PSU with 1000 Watts. They had the unit running two separate computers which was very impressive.

    

The company is also getting ready to launch their 720 and 650 watt Infinity units.

   


There new Chakra Case seems very interesting as the 25cm fan on the side is very hard to miss. The nice thing about the fan is that it can be switch on or off and can be used as an exhaust or as an intake.



Abit

PCIe WiFi card. About time is all I have to say. (You can see it right below the nVidia heatsink)

They set up a demo running 3DMark06 with the wireless setup for us with their wireless card. Very nice. No skips or anything that I noticed and it sounded very smooth.

They are really focusing on higher end boards for gamers.

Abit is going to release two boards. First being a mid-range board for AM2 called IN9-SLI with the Fatal1ty brand. The other one is the IN932X - Max with a 690 Chipset. Should be interesting. And of course, their Fatal1ty board was on display as well.

 


The company is offering a three year warranty on its boards and are encouraging overclocking. If there is no physical damage to the board, they will replace it no questions asked.

They also gave us a demo of their wireless speaker system, the iDome.

         


These guys were great to hang out with and Abit has started working on a lot of other products besides motherboards. It’s going to be interesting to see where they go from here.


So all in all, it was a great day. There were a lot of pics taken, which we are working on sending as I type this. Weather is neither hot nor is it cold, it’s just right. Did I mention that the traffic is insane and annoying? Just wanted to make sure.

There is so much going on here away from the computer side of things, but it is a huge project to cover CES. It doesn’t leave me with much time to do anything else, but I will admit that CES is worth it. I have had a great time so far and again, I have met some great people and look forward to tomorrow.


Dave aka "Bosco"
OCC Site Manager

Raven's Thoughts on CES Day 2

Incredible. Today went better than expected. From the bus ride to the Convention Center to the trip home this evening, Overclockers Club is becoming known as an internet site to be looked at. I was shocked at how many vendors were keeping track of CES via OCC. They have been watching.

Today we met with Logitech, Supertalent, Enermax, AData, Mushkin and Abit.
All were very happy to meet us and talk about their new releases for CES, and we acquired some new sponsors as well. Most of all, we formed some great friendships that will definitely benefit OCC's readers and members.

The most impressive (at least to me) were Abit and Mushkin. Both companies either have a new partnership or have been repurchased. We were advised that these new partnerships are allowing both companies to move their research back to providing the highest quality products to the enthusiast community. They both encourage overclocking. For most of us, this comes as a big plus.

I personally can't wait to see what day 3 has to bring.

Paul aka "Raven"
OCC Marketing Director
These are the rest of the pictures that were taken at the Abit booth

These are the rest of the pictures that were taken at the Adata booth


These are the rest of the pictures that were taken at the Enermax booth


 
These are the rest of the pictures that were taken at the SuperTalent booth



These are just general pictures of CES from day 2


A-DATA Once Again Wins 2007 International CES Innovations Design and Engineering Awards

 

 
InfoSD flash card wins “Best of Innovations” and Solar Disk and VoIP Disk honored with “Innovations Awards”

A-DATA Technology Co., Ltd., the global leader in memory products, is proud to announce its infoSD flash card has won the 2007 CES Best of Innovations Award in the Computer Accessories category. The infoSD flash card is also the only product in that category to win the Best of Innovations from the Consumer Electronics Association (CEA), the producer of the International CES, the world’s largest consumer technology tradeshow. Other A-DATA award winning products include two USB 2.0 flash disks, the Solar Disk and VoIP Disk, with each receiving CES Innovations Awards. Being recognized with the premier design awards at CES reflects A-DATA’s commitment to delivering the best designed products in the market.


A-DATA’s infoSD flash card is the world’s first SecureDigital™ (SD) flash card that utilizes bi-stable display technology, allowing the independent display of the available space on the card at any time without additional power. It is capable of showing 2 characters for name and 4 digits for free capacity via auto-calculation. The Solar Disk is the world's first smart Flash Drive capable of showing the remaining capacity without batteries, with the LCD being solar powered. The VoIP Disk is a unique USB disk with SKYPE functionality. Users can plug the VoIP Disk into any PC connected to the internet and use the SKYPE phone function. Learn more about these products on A-DATA’s website.

 

DELL Integrates CoolIT Systems' MTEC Technology into Dual- Stage Cooling System


About CoolIT
CoolIT Systems has been working with industry leaders in the computer industry to research, design, and deliver next generation cooling products that provide a comprehensive solution while exceeding high OEM standards for reliability and maintenance-free operation. This carefully designed and patented technology unleashes the full potential of a PC, providing superior cooling performance while reducing system level noise and improving reliability of vital components.  The CoolIT MTEC Technology can be found in the top names in performance computing like Alienware, Velocity Micro,  Nex-Type, MAINGEAR, Biohazard, Hypersonic and Shuttle.

MTEC Technology & Dell
Today, CoolIT Systems announces that the new Dell XPS 710 H2C Edition will utilize CoolIT Systems' MTEC technology to effectively chill the new Intel quad core processor.  CoolIT's advanced technology increases cooling power of Dell's patent pending new liquid cooling solution which helps to extend the longevity of the CPU and reduces overclocking risks from heat buildup while running virtually silent.  This technological advancement unleashes the highest potential in computing performance for the multimedia enthusiast or gamer.

"The demands for high-performance computing have increased exponentially in the last few years.  To satisfy this demand, industry leading companies like Dell incorporate the best possible processing hardware into their systems like the new XPS 710 H2C.  For optimal performance the processor must remain chilled at very low temperatures and that's where our patented MTEC technology excels." said Geoff Lyon, CEO of CoolIT Systems.  "With MTEC incorporated into every new XPS 710 H2C system, gaming enthusiasts can now maximize performance from their quad core processor right out of the box without the need for excessive add-ons" adds Lyon.

"CoolIT Systems and Dell engineers partnered to produce the revolutionary H2C Cooling System" said Joe Curley, Marketing Director for the Dell XPS line.  "Our new technology establishes a new standard in efficiently reducing CPU temperatures and optimizing computing reliability for the ultimate high performance gaming experience."

The Dell XPS 710 H2C system and other examples of CoolIT's patented MTEC Technology will be on display at the CES at booth #71554 in the Sands.

Logitech X-240 Speakers Introduce Integrated Cradle for Digital Music Players, PDAs, Mobile Phones

At the 2007 Consumer Electronics Show, Logitech, a leading manufacturer of multimedia speakers, announced the Logitech® X-240 speaker system for the PC. The X-240 PC speaker system features a redesigned control center that includes audio controls for a PC or Mac and serves as a cradle for an iPod® or other MP3 player, PDA or mobile phone. The cradle, which stows away when not in use, makes it easier for people to charge, sync and play their portable device with their PC.

“Logitech understands digital music is changing the way people use their PC and portable devices, so we are developing new concepts that uniquely enhance that experience,” said Jef Holove, Logitech’s vice president of product marketing for audio. “We have optimized the X-240 speakers for digital music enthusiasts by including a convenient, wired control center with an integrated cradle for a favorite portable media device. In addition to delivering great sound for the PC, the X-240 speaker system provides convenience and flexibility when using a portable music player with a PC.”
Control Center Cradle Simplifies Integration between PC and Device

With plug-and-play functionality, the X-240 speaker system allows people to dock their digital device by simply plugging it into the cradle. When their device of choice is docked, people can charge it and sync or play their favorite digital music. And when not in use, the cradle can be stored flush with the control pod.
To ensure a secure fit, the X-240 speakers include specialized trays for the iPod® and Microsoft® Zune™. In addition to providing a custom fit, these trays help route the iPod or Zune charging cables behind the control pod and out of sight.

For people who don’t own any portable devices but still want quality PC speakers, the Logitech X-240 PC speakers deliver a rich sound while maintaining a smart profile. With stylish metal grilles, high-excursion satellite drivers, a ported down-firing subwoofer and dynamic, real-time bass equalization, the speakers deliver great audio in a stylish and slim design. For easy access,
X-240 Speakers Include Integrated Cradle for Music Players, PDAs, Phones – Page 2
the control center also features master volume control, power buttons, and a convenient headphone jack that enables private listening.
Pricing and Availability

The Logitech X-240 speaker system is expected to be available in the U.S. beginning in March and in Europe beginning in April. With a suggested retail price in the U.S. of $49.99, the Logitech X-240 speakers provide superior audio performance for their price.

Bosco's Thoughts on CES day three


The traffic today was nowhere near as bad as it has been the past two days. On the way to CES, we got a pretty cool bus driver that was driving like a mad man and was a blast. He kept referring to Raven as “the good looking one” but I’m not sure what he was looking at. The mirror must have been dirty. LOL

We started off the day with the Fox News interview. It didn't look too good when I viewed it, but I had to laugh when I watched it because I kept talking over Paul. Oh well, it’s not like we had a chance to prepare, but overall I think it was OK. I personally enjoyed the experience even though I may have looked like a fool. Of course, shortly after I had no problem looking like a fool, I bumped into a guy because I was too busy watching John Cena from the WWE walk by. Man, the arms on that guy are tree trunks.


Anyway, now on to today’s events.

Paul, Max and myself sat down with Intel to talk about where the company is going in the future. First, they showed off their 8 Core Xeon V8 system. Man, is this thing impressive. 3dmark06 CPU Score 6089, Cinebench 2003 Score 2364, loaded in 11 seconds, HL2 particle benchmark 123.

       

Intel is planning on releasing a new chipset in the 3rd or 4th quarter with DDR3 support running at 1333MHz.

They also gave us something special, but you will have to keep checking back for the review. Should be in the next few weeks or so.

We happened to check out a free style rapper who was actually pretty good. Never saw him make a mistake once and he went on for about 5 - 10 minutes. From what I understand, he holds the world record for free styling, something like 9 hours straight. Sheesh, I can barely stay awake for that long.


Trimersion

I finally got to try out Trimersion's 360 degree wireless Virtual headset. Like I said before, they were having issues with wireless because of all the booths using wireless. They decided to hardwire it so that people could see it how it should be. I got to try out a few games with it and I was very impressed. I had no issues with the unit whatsoever. It takes a bit getting used to, but once you get the hang of it, you will have a blast. The option of being able to turn around 360 degrees is just amazing. Talk about getting owned in a game. They are looking to launch around March or April with a retail price just under $400, so it shall be interesting to say the least. The company is working on some other things, but they cannot tell me what they are at this time.

Thermaltake

 


1000 and 1200 watt power supplies will be out at the end of the month, 1500 watts will be out sometime around June or so.


They have a 5 1/4” drive that holds all of the water-cooling components. All you have to do is click the connectors to everything and you are good to go. From what I have seen, I would guess an install time of maybe 20 - 30 minutes, if that.

     


They showed off some water-cooled memory modules (never thought I would see the day). On that note, they then showed off the Liquid Cooled hard drive enclosure as well. A system in a prototype case with all of these running was very impressive.


Thermaltake has produced a ton of new CPU Coolers and Case fans that look pretty sweet.

   

They showed off a few new cases that are either coming out soon or just came out.


We were also showed a Home Theater Case with an iPod connector built into it. Talk about convenient. They also had a few other HTPC cases on display.



XFX

XFX is getting ready to launch a XXX series 8800 with the fastest Pre-OC at 650MHz on the GPU and 2000MHz on the memory. Wow!! The card will consist of active cooling and they are trying to keep the cost near that of a normal 8800 series card.

Tomorrow is the last day of the show. I do believe that it will end early with it being the last day and all. We have finished seeing everyone that we either came to see or were invited to meet with. We are going to try to see some people last minute, if possible and then tomorrow afternoon I hope to do some sight seeing.

I cannot explain how much of a fun and enjoyable experience this has been. It was just incredible to be here and be a part of it. I encourage anyone who ever has the chance to come to this event to do it.

Well thats about it for me.

Dave aka "Bosco"
OCC Site Manager

Raven's Thoughts on CES day three



Day three ended up becoming a great day that none of us could have expected. Being interviewed live by FoxNews.com was a great experience for me and was a great opportunity for OverclockersClub. All of our meetings went very well and we made a lot of new friends.

Afterward, Max (bishop245) and I attended the SuperTalent after-party. At the party, SuperTalent re-confirmed the notion that they were going to start producing more “gamer orientated” RAM. Judging by the products SuperTalent had on display at their booth, we can be expecting some great things coming from the company.

Overall, it was a great day for OCC.

Paul aka "Raven65"
OCC Marketing Director

PS: Jeff knows 14 Ijagwalaafq's Thoughts on CES day three

I have not been doing the daily post thing because this trip was very overwhelming for me and I had trouble putting everything to words. The sheer amount of activity on The Strip is amazing.

The variety of gear at the show was flat out amazing. Basically, if it has anything to do with anything, it's at CES. I saw a lot of the offerings but I know that I missed some, though this is partly due to issues such as the volume of people and slow traffic conditions.

I got to get my picture taken with two of the Trimersion booth babes. I need to get the pic off of Bosco's camera.

I was impressed with many of the products that we saw, particularly Trimersion's goggles and Abit's high end systems. I was also hugely impressed and amazed with the number of sponsors and products, and the friendships that were formed. The success OCC is having on this trip is beyond what I expected. It is really great to be a part of this.

Jeff aka "ijagwalaafq"
Site Admin & Moderator
These are pictures of  the Fatal1ty booth on CES day 3



   

These are pictures of  the AMD booth on CES day 3


These are pictures of  the FoxNews.com Interview on CES day 3

 

Ultra Products Introduces High-End Carbon Fiber Case


About Ultra Products
Ultra Products is a global, technology-solutions provider with headquarters in Fletcher, Ohio. The company strives to offer a wide range of solutions, products and services all with a common thread:   Innovation, value and quality.  It is Ultra's mission to be the best provider of technology-solutions in the global market. By offering superior, innovative products and ensuring a high level of customer service, Ultra guarantees its customers receive an exceptional value in everything they do.

The Carbon Fiber Case
Ultra Products, a global leader in technology solutions, today has unveiled a top-of-the-line carbon fiber case for PC enthusiasts and gamers.    The new Ultra Carbon Fiber case with cast aluminum frame will be available with Ultra's new line of gaming PCs and available for individual purchase later this month.  Ultra Products will also offer a clear-window version for users who wish to showcase the case's internal features and their own PC components, and will announce later this month a custom-paint program for users who wish to customize their own DIY rig with original artwork or designs.  

The Ultra Carbon Fiber Case's panels are made from carbon fiber composite.  Carbon fiber is often used in aerospace and automotive fields, as well as in sailboats and modern bicycles, where the material's strength-to-weight radio.  Carbon fiber has been used as "trim" in the PC industry in the past, but this is the first time a PC case has been made almost entirely of carbon fiber. 

The Ultra Carbon Fiber Case measures 20 ½" (height) x 19 ¾" (depth) x 8 ¼" (wide), and supports five 3.5" internal drives, two 3.5" external drives, and five 5.25" external drives. 

injijagwalaafq's Conclusion

This event was a blast for OCC! I enjoyed my time at the event and I've begun planning and dreaming for next year. On my list so far is more pre-planning and efforts to reduce travel time at the show so that we can do, and see, even more.

ijagwalaafq signing off. Raven's Thoughts on CES day four

Today we finally had some time to relax and enjoy the CES experience. We attended only one meeting and that was with CoolerMaster. Although I have been at CES for 3 days now, I didn't realize how big it actually was. I guess that since my mind was focused on business, I never really looked.

We dropped Jeff (14) at 11:00 am then proceeded to the Las Vegas Convention Center. We all took tons of pictures and even had our picture taken with Elvis! That was a lot of fun. With CES concluded for the day, we decided to do a little site seeing. So we hopped into Bishop's truck and went to the Hoover D.A.M. What a blast! I don't think I’ve laughed that hard in my life. We all took some pics and even a couple of videos and then went back to Vegas. Unfortunately, it was my turn to leave.

I will cherish the stronger friendships created with the OCC CES Staff and am looking forward to next year.

Please check back on Saturday, where I will sum up the entire experience.


Paul aka "Raven65"
OCC Marketing Director

Bosco's Thoughts on CES day four and final thoughts on CES 2007

My apologies on the delay for getting this up, but from lack of Internet and being tired after being up for 37 hours straight, it took a while to get this down.

Coolermaster

They showed off a lot of cool new products, including the $899.99 case. I am not sure how many of them they will sell at that price, but they still look pretty cool.

   


It seems as though they really want to make a bigger push into the cooling industry, which is nice to see.

 


CES was a fun and interesting experience and I was glad that I was able to be a part of it. I got to enjoy meeting some of the staff that I have not seen before, plus I got to meet a lot of great people in the industry.

Also, having Uber beat Jonathan Fata1ity in a game of Quake 4 was pretty sweet.

I didn’t get to do a lot away from CES but we did manage to go to the Hoover D.A.M. on the last day, so it was a great road trip and was a blast to do it with OCC Staff. Speaking of drives, I have no idea what it is that attracts Bishop to curbs. All I can say is that I don't think I have ever driven over more curbs in my life than I did when in Vegas. Oh yea, did I mention we saw Elvis?


On the last day, we tried to take a lot of pics away from what we were doing so that people could get an idea for what CES is like and looks like. I really hope that we succeeded in that area.

   

   


On the last night we spent a lot of time cruising around and taking pics and videos of the night life of Vegas. We had such a blast with that! I never laughed so hard, it was just so great.


Overall, we were all tired and burned out from the event. I remember one night only getting one and a half hours of sleep. Because of the brutal Internet connection we had and with the uploading of all the pics, it was a night that I would like to forget. Of course, I would not trade it for the world. I hope next year more staff will be able to attend, it’s really an event that people should try and see first hand.

With the event over I realize just how much we accomplished, and 2007 is going to be a great year for OCC.

A thank you to all the staff that helped make the coverage possible and thank you to all the readers who read it and offered input and thank you to all the emails I got with the compliments of our coverage.

One last thing that I would like to say is that I would like to thank the three mothers who sent me emails asking about the OCC newsletter. I did not realize that troops monitored OCC while on tour of duties, so I hope that the CES coverage was worth it and gave them something to read for while they are fighting for freedom and peace. Thank you for all of your hard work over there and be safe.

Dave
OCC Site Manager

These are the rest of the pictuers from the Coolermaster booth



Pictures of CES Booths

 

Pictures of the CES Booths continued...



Pictures of the CES Booths continued...


Pictures of the CES Booths continued...


Pictures of the CES Booths continued...



The Booth Babe's of CES 2007



The Treo Audio International Truck



Various Pictures of Las Vegas



Pictures of the Hoover Dam



OverclockersClub CES Conclusion


This year was OverclockersClub’s first presence at CES. It was truly a learning experience. Although many aspects went off without a hitch, we still encountered some minor hiccups, but fortunately all the OCC staff worked hard to fix the problems, and in the end we got it right. Thank you all.

While at CES we learned much about the do’s and don’ts of how to coordinate our days and evenings. The first day of the show was our most trying day. We all felt overwhelmed, but by the end of the day, sitting in our hotel room, we realized that we had accomplished much more than was expected. From day two onward, everything began to fall into place. This was due to the teamwork and our goal to make OCC's presence known.

OverclockersClub formed many new relationships and even mended some old ones. Nearly everyone we met with was impressed by our coverage and complimented us on our commitment. It will be these relationships that will forge a great future for OCC. We will now have the opportunity to complete our ultimate goals, which are to increase our membership base and readers by providing the latest product reviews and Overclocking to the next level! Overclockers Club now has the opportunity to get back to its roots, which is taking it all to the max and giving our readers and members the insight to achieve it.

The OverclockersClub CES team is elated at the success achieved while attending the show. Many things became possible to accomplish due just to our presence. Attending the 2007 Consumer Electronics Show exceeded all of our expectations.

Thank you all,
The OverclockersClub CES Team