Geil EvoOne DDR2 Review

gotdamojo06 - 2008-08-09 09:51:16 in Memory
Category: Memory
Reviewed by: gotdamojo06   
Reviewed on: August 31, 2008
Geil
Price: $120

Introduction:

Are you like many other computer enthusiasts trying to get the most you possibly can out of your processor? What about the memory that you have installed in your system, has it been holding you back? Are you unable to get those high front side bus clocks because your memory cannot handle it? Well, maybe you need to take a look at the DDR2 series from Geil called EvoOne. This memory looks like it can handle as many volts as you can throw at it, and handle the heat with the stock passive cooling solution Geil has placed on the sticks. Well, enough talking about them, let;s see exactly what they are made of and see how they perform.  

Closer Look:  

When you first take a look at the packaging for the Geil EvoOne DDR2 memory, you may think the exact same as I did, "WOW this packaging is huge! What would Geil ever need such huge packaging for?" Well, when we get it opened up we will find out exactly why they decided to go with such a huge package. The front of the the box is very simple, and only tells you and shows you what you need to know about the memory. The package is a nice brilliant black package that has a very nice artistic computer generated image. In the middle of the package you are able to see a nice little glimpse of the memory's cooling solution, with the heatsink's fins exposed to air. The bottom of the front is where you are going to see the name of the line, EvoOne, and Geil's logo printed under it. When you flip to the back of the package there is another nice outline design on the back along with all of the specifications you are going to want to know before you purchase a kit of memory. This states that it is DDR2, runs at 800MHz with CAS4 and has a total capacity of 2GB in the two stick configuration. When you open up the package and take the protective plastic piece out, you'll find out exactly why the packaging is so large - the cooling solution for the EvoOne kit takes up quite a bit of space.

 

 

Well, what else can you say when you first take a look at these sticks of RAM, other than, "Wow, they look like a pair of beasts!" I am very impressed by the sheer look of the kit overall. The heatspreaders that Geil has decided to include on the EvoOne line of memory makes them look like they would be able to tackle the world, and deal with what ever amount of voltages you can dish out at them while keeping the heat from destroying them. The front of the sticks has Geil's logo, which has been placed directly under the opened up area to help cool the sticks. On the back you are going to be able to see the manufacturer's tags, as to show you exactly what these sticks are and what the ratings for them are. They are rated to run at 2.0v, with a cas latency of 4, putting the timings at 4-4-4-12.  Those are very tight timings, making this memory quite quick.  I am curious to see how well they perform.

 

 

When you take a closer look at the design and how the heat spreaders are installed on the Geil EvoOne memory sticks, you will need to take a look at it from two different angles. At the bottom where the contacts are, and from the side also. When you look at the way the heat spreader is attached from the bottom, you will see that the material used for the heat spreader is a nice thickness, not too thin like some other heat spreaders but thick enough to extract heat from the stick. The side angle is where you are going to see how the heat spreader is held on. You can see that the chips on the sticks are where the heat spreaders are attached with. When you look above the PCB of the sticks, there is a gap where air is able to pass through, allowing the heat spreader to cool passively. How this is accomplished is through the use of a heatpipe and fin assembly, as well thick heatspreaders..

 

Now that we know what they look like, we need to take a look at what these sticks are made of.

Specifications:

 

Capacity
 4 GB Dual Channel

Speed

 800MHz
Cas Latency
 CAS4 4-4-4-12

ECC

 No

Chip Type

 8x128MB IC Chips
Buffer
 None
Working Voltages

CL5 - 1.8V
CL4 - 1.9~2.0V

Heat Spreader EvoOne Heat-sink system

 

Features:

Testing:

The best way to verify whether one set of memory modules is better than another, is to run a series of benchmarks and put down some basic comparison data. When all things are equal, and the only variable is the module being tested, the results are a great way to compare performance. In order to eliminate the variables, the only settings that will be manipulated are the memory timings, and voltages when overclocking. The comparison modules will be run at the manufacturer specified timings and voltages at 800MHz, the common DDR2 speed. The Geil EvoOne DDR2 kit will be run at stock speeds as well as the highest possible overclock.

Testing Setup:

Comparison Modules:

 

 

CPU-Z: This application shows us the settings that we have chosen in the BIOS. Items shown in this application include CPU speed and bus settings, motherboard manufacturer, BIOS revisions, memory timings, and SPD chip information.

 

Task Manager: We use this utility to show physical memory, kernel memory, page file usage, and processor usage (%).

 

Overclocking:

Overclocked settings:

When it came to overclocking the Geil EvoOne DDR2 2x2GB kit, it was quite easy to get those MHz a soaring! I was able to achieve 1160MHz while staying right around the 2.0 volts that the sticks are rated for. I was also able to keep the memory timings somewhat close to the stock timings of 4-4-4-12. They ended up being 5-8-8-22 when I overclocked the RAM. A 45% overclock on the RAM's clock speed is always a nice feat to accomplish. Acheiving these clock speeds was not very difficult, as all I really needed to do was loosen the timings, raise the voltages and change the divider while I upped the front side bus. I was able to keep the timmings at 5-5-5-15, however the speed of the RAM ended up being only 940MHz, so I decided to stay with the 1160MHz at 5-8-8-22 for benchmarking.

As an enthusiast community, we tend to push our hardware to the max all the time. At OverclockersClub, we do not condone running your hardware outside of the parameters set by the manufacturer, and will not be responsible for any damage to your hardware while trying to duplicate the results of our testing. With that out of the way, let the testing begin.

 

The benchmarks that will be used in this review include the following programs:

Benchmarks:

Testing:

PCMark Vantage: With this benchmark, I will be running the system suite as well as the memory test suite. The measure for the system suite will be the total score. The measure for memory performance is the total memory score.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

SiSoftware Sandra XII: In this program, I will be doing the following benchmarks: Cache and Memory, Memory Bandwidth and Memory Latency.  Higher is better in all tests, except for Memory Latency, where lower is better.

 

 

 

 

 

The Geil EvoOne DDR2 dominated the bandwidth tests during the overclocked settings, however not when it was at stock speeds. The PCMark Vantage tests scored the EvoOne quite a bit lower than all of the other kits it was put up against, even when it was overclocked. When the EvoOne kit was overclocked in the Sandra tests, it was able to score pretty good.

 

Testing:

Company of Heroes is a real time strategy game set during World War II. The object is to occupy and control the ground you capture, while forcing the opponents to capitulate. We will use the in-game performance test to measure the performance of the system.

 

The settings used in this test are listed below:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

  
 

 

 

 

Higher is Better

 

The Geil EvoOne RAM did quite well once it was overclocked, and was able to hold its own during both the higher and lower resolutions. It was able to give the gamming performance that it has been marketed towards.

 

Conclusion:

The Geil EvoOne DDR2 dual channel 2x2GB kit for desktop computers was not only a great looking piece of hardware to use for an upgrade and add extra value to it, but it also was able to hold it's own when it came to some memory intensive number crunching. I really liked that the EvoOne kit ran with CAS4, making the timings 4-4-4-12. The RAM looks more impressive with lower timings, and allows it to perform better at the stock settings. When it came to the actual performance of the sticks, they were able to perform very close to some of the other kits out on the market. If it did not outright beat them, it came in a strong second. However, when you overclock them, they perform almost as well with the relaxed timings, especially when it came down to the bandwidth testing. I was very surprised at how well they overclocked as well, even though they required a hair over two volts to get astable overclock at 1160MHz. 1160MHz is no small number when it comes to the speed of the memory in your system. I was disappointed with how large the heat spreaders were, however, they looked very clean and sleek and were able to allow for a higher voltages without resulting in any damage. The lifetime warranty adds great value to the kit. I would suggest this kit of memory to anyone who is looking for an upgrade for their computer, especially if they are looking to overclock, and their memory is holding them back from reaching some high FSB speeds.

 

Pros:

 

Cons: