Welcome Stranger to OCC!Login | Register

Cavalry Storage CAND3001T0 1TB Network Drive Review

Nemo    -   February 4, 2009
» Discuss this article (14)

Configuration:

Account:

The Account section allows you to create users and assign them passwords, establish user groups and define their membership, and set the share permissions on the folders on the server. The CAND3001T0 comes already set up in a RAID-1 configuration with a default folder named /public. Without setting up users and defining share permissions, all users on the network have full read/write permission to the folder and, by inheritance, all subfolders within the /public folder. Making use of users and permissions will allow you to enforce security at a much more granular level.

User Management
The User Management page allows you to create new users and manage or delete existing users. Highlighting an existing user will allow you to change the current password, add or remove a shared private folder, and change the quota settings for the user. If you uncheck the "Create Shared private Folder" checkbox, the folder for the user will be removed and all data will be lost once you hit the save button – there is no warning dialog asking if you want to delete the folder! This would also be a good time to check on the "admin" user and change the default password.

Creating a new user is done by clicking the Add User button. This begins a three-step process that walks you through the screens needed to create the user and add them to groups and assign network shares. If this is the first time through, you may see that the group list is empty and the only share available is the "public" folder.

 

 

 

 

You can also remove a user by highlighting the user name in the Existing User pane and pressing the Delete User button. The system will prompt you for confirmation and once you press OK, the user is deleted from the system and any private shared folder created for that user is also removed. Be careful to back up any data in the user's shared folder before deleting the user.

The User Management section is also the only place where you can add or change the quotas assigned to users. This allows you to designate how much storage space a user is allowed to use. Quotas may only be assigned at the user level and not at the group level.

Share Management
This section enables you to create shares and assign permissions to users and groups. When you first start the process, the only share is the default "public" share. You can highlight the share name in the Existing Shares pane and then assign users and groups read/write access to the share using the Setting button. Similarly, you can click the Add Share button and create a new share and assign users and groups access to the share. For example, when we created new users in the section above, we had the system automatically create a private shared folder. You will then need to create a share and assign the user to the share as shown below. You can also grant access by IP address so other servers can access the share.

 

 

 

Group Management
Groups are collections of users that can be used to assign permission to several users at once instead of having to add the same permission for each user individually. When planning the structure of the folders on your server, it is probably best to determine the group structure and create the groups first, before any users are created. This will allow you to assign users to the appropriate group(s) as the user accounts are created. New groups are created using the Add Group button and following a three-step setup process. The first step is to create the group name. Then you highlight the desired user(s) in the Non-member pane and click the Add button to move them to the Member pane.

 

 

 

The third and final step is to add share permissions by clicking on a share name in the Access Denied pane and clicking on the appropriate permission level button to add the permission to the group. This way, any existing or new members will automatically have the permissions granted to the group.

 

 

 

You can add/remove users to existing groups by highlighting the group in the Existing Groups pane and clicking the Setting button.

Let's move on to see what the CAND3001T0 offers in the way of server functionality.




  1. Introduction & Closer Look
  2. Installation & Configuration
  3. Configuration: Web UI & DiskTools
  4. Configuration: System
  5. Configuration: Account
  6. Configuration: Server
  7. Configuration: Backup
  8. Configuration: Log Files
  9. Specifications & Features
  10. Testing: Setup
  11. Testing: SiSoft Sandra
  12. Testing: Intel NAS Performance Toolkit
  13. Testing: Operation
  14. Testing: Features
  15. Conclusion
Random Pic
© 2001-2014 Overclockers Club ® Privacy Policy

Also part of our network: TalkAndroid, Android Forum, iPhone Informer, Neoseeker, and Used Audio Classifieds

Elapsed: 0.0262720585